Buda Palace at night

My UNESCO World Heritage Sites

After seeing Wandering Mee’s own list of UNESCO World Heritage sites, I became curious about the ones I’ve visited myself. A tally from the official website shows that I’ve visited 26 25* out of the 981!

Check out my list below, along with some of my photos.

Austria

  • Historic Centre of the City of Salzburg
  • Palace and Gardens of Schönbrunn
  • Historic Centre of Vienna
Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna

Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Old Bridge Area of the Old City of Mostar
Mostar Old Bridge
The old bridge at Mostar

Canada

  • Dinosaur Provincial Park
  • Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump
  • Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks – Banff National Park
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park
Quintessential Lake Louse
The quintessential Lake Louise in Banff, Alberta

Croatia

  • Old City of Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik
The city walls of Dubrovnik

Czech Republic

  • Historic Centre of Český Krumlov
  • Historic Centre of Prague
  • Kutná Hora: Historical Town Centre with the Church of St Barbara and the Cathedral of Our Lady at Sedlec
  • Holy Trinity Column in Olomouc
Prague's main square
Prague’s main square

Germany

  • Palaces and Parks of Potsdam and Berlin
  • Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar and Dessau
  • Classical Weimar
  • Museumsinsel (Museum Island), Berlin
  • Dresden Elbe Valley Delisted 2009*
  • Old town of Regensburg with Stadtamhof
Potsdam
The Potsdam Palace near Berlin

Hungary

  • Budapest, including the Banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter and Andrássy Avenue
Budapest
A summer day in Budapest

Poland

  • Historic Centre of Kraków
  • Wieliczka and Bochnia Royal Salt Mines
  • Auschwitz Birkenau
    German Nazi Concentration and Extermination Camp (1940-1945)
  • Centennial Hall in Wrocław
Lovely Krakow: street view
Lovely Krakow: street view

Switzerland

  • Old City of Berne
Historical Centre of Berne
Historical centre of Berne

USA

  • Statue of Liberty
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park

I didn’t even realize a lot of these were Heritage Sites – for example, I went to the Bauhaus Museum in Weimar after I missed a train and was looking for something interesting to do. I went to the Head Smashed-In Buffalo Jump in a field trip in elementary school, and to the Statue of Liberty during a family vacation.

When I visited Olomouc, people told me to go look at the Holy Trinity Column. I asked them what was so special about it, and everyone just said, “Just go look at it!”.

Well, it’s because it was a World Heritage Site!

Happy travels!

*The Dresden Elbe Valley was a UNESCO Site until 2009, until the city decided to build a bridge across it. I never actually saw this bridge, but according to people I spoke to, those who didn’t want the bridge were the actual Dresdeners that lived in the city, and those who wanted it were non-Dresdeners who just wanted a better way to get to work in the mornings. It’s unfortunate, because it’s beautiful.

2 thoughts on “My UNESCO World Heritage Sites”

  1. The places that you’ve been to (and I haven’t) are on my list! Hoping to be able to go to Croatia and Bosnia this year. Would love to explore more of Czech Republic and Germany too. Cross fingers! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

